
MOTORCYCLE OR MOPED APPLICATION 
***NOT FOR CDL CLASS A, B OR C OPERATORS PERMITS, LICENSES OR WAIVERS*** 

Written Examination Fee Must Be Included With This Application 

PRINT 
FIRST NAME INITIAL LAST NAME 

MAILING 

ADDRESS 
  

EMAIL ADDRESS  

Date of Birth Hair Color Eye Color Height Weight Gender Telephone # Social Security Number 

      
 

 

Month Day Year   Feet & Inches Pounds M, F, X (Non-binary) Required if eligible for SSN 

 Motorcycle *APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE* 

$35.00 Applicants under the age eighteen are required to have a completion certificate for both Driver’s Education and the Basic 
Rider Course (BRC). 
All applicants are required to complete a BRC. 

 Moped *APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE* 

$35.00 Mopeds may be operated by any person who possesses a valid operator’s license of any class; or who possesses an 
operator’s license specially endorsed to operate a motorcycle or moped; or a permit for moped operation. 

 Oral Examination: 

(check box if required) 

If you require an oral examination you may bring your own 

reader/translator at time of test. 
(Literacy or American Sign Language interpreters will be provided  by the  

Bureau of Motor Vehicles upon advance request) 

Maine Organ and Tissue Fund donation:  (   ) $2.00 or (   ) Other ________ (specify amount) 

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS 

1) Place of birth YES NO 

  City or Town State or Country   

2) Are you applying for an instruction permit examination?   

3) Have you completed a course in Driver’s Education?   

4) 
Do you hold or have you ever held a valid driver’s license from Maine or any other state, 

country or province; Class:              Expiration date:                    Where: 
  

5) 
Have you ever held a Maine instruction permit or Non-driver identification card? 

If yes, under what name? (Print) 
  

6) 
Have you been convicted of violating any motor vehicle laws within the last ten years? 

What was the violation                                     Date:                     Where: 
  

7) 
Is your privilege to operate a motor vehicle under suspension or revocation in this state or any 

other state or province? 
  

8) Do you have any of the following medical conditions?  (If NO, check box)   

 Blackouts/Loss of Consciousness  Multiple Sclerosis  Sleep Apnea  Dementia 

 Narcolepsy/Hypersomnia  Hypoglycemia   Limb Amputation  Mental Health Condition 

 Musculoskeletal/Neurological  Spinal Cord Injury  Parkinson’s  Seizures/Epilepsy 

 Substance Use Disorder  Heart Trouble   Stroke/Brain Injury   Chronic Lung Disease 

 Other conditions affecting your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle       

LEGAL SIGNATURE:  DATE:  
                            No Nicknames 

Under 18 Requires: 

SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN                                                                            RELATIONSHIP:                                                                     

MVE-64M REVISED 5/23 
PLEASE READ OTHER SIDE 

 

 



PLEASE MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: Secretary of State 

                                           Mail to:  Bureau of Motor Vehicles 

Examination Section 

State House Station # 29 

Augusta, ME  04333 

**PLEASE INCLUDE ALL FEES & IDENTIFICATION WITH THIS APPLICATION** 

“Moped” means a motorized device designed to travel with only 2 or 3 10-inch or larger diameter wheels in contact with the 

ground and that; may have pedals, has an electric or liquid fuel motor not exceeding 50 cubic centimeters or an electric motor 

with under 1,500 watts and does not require clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged. 

“Moped” does not include an electric personal assistive mobility device. 

“Motorcycle” means a motor vehicle that has a seat or a saddle for the use of the rider and is designed to travel with only 2 

or 3 10-inch or larger diameter wheels and has a motor with a cylinder capacity of more than 50 cubic centimeters or an 

electric motor with a capacity of not less than 1,500 watts. 

REQUIREMENTS 
Two forms of identification required when submitting application materials. 

On must indicate your date of birth and the other must bear your written signature.  If you are the holder of a Driver’s License from 

any State or Province that license MUST ALSO be produced. Acceptable ID: 

Adoption Papers Copy of Marital Application 

(Certified) 

Driver Education Card Military Discharge/Separation 

(DD-214)* 

Baptismal Records Court Record Driver’s License Military ID Card* 

Birth Certificate Divorce Papers Driver’s Permit Passport 

Citizenship Papers Draft Card Medical Record from 

Doctor/Hospital 

School Record/Transcript 

(Certified) 

Concealed Weapons Permit (gun permit) Military Dependent ID Card* Social Security Card 

Parent/Guardian (Parent/Guardian must appear in person and prove his/her identity, applies only to minors.) 

Birth Certificate is required for applicants under the age of twenty-three. 

Copy of the Birth Certificate must have the EMBOSSED SEAL or STAMP of the issuing agency. 

Notarized copies are NOT acceptable. 

All questions on this application must be answered and be accompanied by the required materials or the application will be returned, 

causing undue delay in being scheduled for an examination. 

 

Proof of residency and lawful presence is required upon submission of application. For a list of acceptable documents to establish such 

proof, refer to http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/getlicense.html 

 

The road test phase of the examination for a license may be waived for holders of a VALID out-of-state license. 

 

The Secretary of State may not accept this application for any minor under the age of eighteen years unless the application is signed by a 

Parent or Legal Guardian having custody of the minor or by the Spouse of the minor provided the spouse is eighteen years of age or older.  

Any person who has signed the application for a minor to obtain a LEARNER’S PERMIT or an OPERATOR’S LICENSE may thereafter 

file with the Secretary of State a notarized written request that the learner’s permit or operator’s license of said minor, so granted, be 

suspended. 

 

*Veterans please visit the Bureau of Veterans’ Services website at http://www.maine.gov/veterans for information on state and federal 

benefits your military service may have earned you. 

I am aware that any misstatement on this application will result in immediate suspension or revocation of my 

permit or license and my privilege to operate in the State of Maine may be suspended for a period to be determined 

by the Secretary of State. Furthermore, I understand that knowingly supplying false information on this form is a 

Class D Crime. 

 

Manual available online: www.maine.gov/sos/bmv 

http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/getlicense.html
http://www.maine.gov/dvem/bvs
http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv
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